

# **Appendix B - Public Hearings**

# Friday 27 June 2008 - Canberra

## **Australian Electoral Commission**

Mr Ian Campbell, Australian Electoral Commissioner

Mr Pablo Carpay, Assistant Commissioner, Roll Management

Mr Paul Dacey, Deputy Electoral Commissioner

Mr Tim Evans, Assistant Commissioner People & Performance

Mr Doug Orr, Assistant Commissioner, Elections

Mr Tim Pickering, First Assistant Commissioner, Electoral Operations

Mr Paul Pirani, Chief Legal Officer

Ms Gail Urbanski, Assistant Commissioner, Communications & Information Strategy

# Wednesday 23 July 2008 - Sydney

### **Individuals**

Mr Antony Green

Mr John Meeves

## GetUp!

Mr Sam McLean, National Mobiliser, Grassroots Campaigner

Mr Brett Solomon, Executive Director

# **Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission**

Mr Graeme Innes, Human Rights & Disability Discrimination Commissioner

# People with Disability Australia

Mr Dean Price, Senior Advocate

## **Public Interest Advocacy Centre**

Ms Brenda Bailey, Senior Policy Officer

Ms Deirdre Moor, Manager Policy & Programs

## The Greens NSW

Ms Lesa de Leau, Campaign Director

Mr Chris Maltby, Registered Officer

## Vision Australia

Mr Michael Simpson, General Manager Policy & Advocacy

# Thursday 24 July 2008 - Sydney

### **Individuals**

Mr Ivan Freys

#### **Australian Finance Conference**

Ms Helen Gordon, Corporate Lawyer

## Homelessness Australia

Mr Digby Hughes, Policy and Research Officer

## **NSW Young Labor**

Ms Elizabeth Larbalestier, Secretary

Mr Christopher Parkin, President

## Parliament of New South Wales

The Hon Donald Harwin, member of the Legislative Council

# Uniting Justice Australia, Uniting Church of Australia

Rev Elenie Poulos, National Director

#### Urban Taskforce Australia

Mr Aaron Gadiel, Chief Executive Officer

## Wednesday 6 August 2008 - Brisbane

#### **Individuals**

**Emeritus Professor Colin Hughes** 

Mr David Kerslake

Mr Darrell Main

#### **Australian Electoral Commission**

Ms Anne Bright, Australian Electoral Officer for Queensland Mr Tim Pickering, First Assistant Commissioner Electoral Operations

# Monday, 11 August 2008 - Melbourne

## **Individuals**

Mr Mark Dreyfus QC MP, Federal Member for Isaacs

Mr Anthony van der Craats

Dr Sally Young

#### **Australian Electoral Commission**

Mr Daryl Wight, Australian Electoral Officer, for Victoria

#### Blind Citizens Australia

Ms Leah Hobson, National Policy Officer

#### **Hanover Welfare Services**

Dr Andrew Hollows, General Manager, Research & Organisational Development

Mr Tony Keenan, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Violet Kolar, Assistant Manager Research

#### PILCH Homeless Persons' Legal Clinic

Ms Caroline Adler, Manager & Principal Lawyer

Ms Amy Barry, Macaulay, Lawyer

Mr James Farrell, Secondee & Voluntary Lawyer

# Tuesday 12 August 2008 - Melbourne

#### Individual

Dr Joo-Cheong Tham

## **Australian Electoral Commission**

Ms Marie Neilson, Australian Electoral Officer for Tasmania

Mr Tim Pickering, First Assistant Commissioner, Electoral Operations

## **Registries Limited and Everyone Counts**

Mr Craig Burton, Chief Technology Officer

Ms Debra Pitman, Business Manager

# The Computing Research & Education Association of Australasia

Dr Vanessa Teague

# The Global Data Company

Mr Edward Sedgley, Director

# Wednesday 20 August 2008 - Adelaide

#### Individual

Dr Kathy Edwards

#### **Australian Electoral Commission**

Dr Christopher Drury, Australian Electoral Officer for South Australia

## **Electoral Reform Society of South Australia**

Mr Deane Crabb, Secretary

# FamilyVoice Australia

Dr David Phillips, National President

# Royal Society for the Blind of South Australia Inc.

Mr Trevor Frost, Community Educator

## Thursday 21 August 2008 - Perth

#### **Individuals**

Mr William Bowe

Mr Andrew Murray

## Association for the Blind of Western Australia

Mrs Carol Solosy, Director, Training, Employment & Information Services

#### **Australian Electoral Commission**

Mr Colin Nagle, Australian Electoral Officer for Western Australia

Mr Ian Stringall, Director of Operations for Western Australia

## Council for the National Interest WA

Mr Denis O'Sullivan, Chairman Western Australian Committee

#### Greens WA

Ms Margo Beilby, Co-Convener

Ms Diane MacTiernan, Member of Administrative Working Groups

## Monday 1 September 2008 - Canberra

#### Australia Post

Mr Paul Burke, Acting Corporate Secretary

Mr Ben Franzi, Manager, Network Customer Requirements

Mr Christopher Jobling, Manager, Customer Connections

Mr Don Newman, Acting Group Manager, National Logistics

Mr Scott Staunton, Deputy General Counsel, Legal Services

## **Australian Electoral Commission**

Mr Ian Campbell, Australian Electoral Commissioner

Mr Pablo Carpay, Assistant Commissioner Roll Management

Mr Doug Orr, Assistant Commissioner Elections

Mr Tim Pickering, First Assistant Commissioner Electoral Operations

# Monday 22 September 2008 - Canberra

#### **Democratic Audit of Australia**

Mr Peter Brent, Member

Professor Brian Costar, Co-ordinator

Mr Norman (Norm) Kelly, Member

## Friday 17 October 2008 - Canberra

#### **Australian Electoral Commission**

Ms Judy Birkenhead, Assistant Director, Electronic Voting

Mr Paul Dacey, Acting Electoral Commissioner

Ms Barbara Davis, First Assitant Commissioner, Business Support

Mr Iain Loganathan, Australian Electoral Officer for the Northern Territory

Ms Kathy Mitchell, Acting Assistant Commissioner Roll Management

Mr Doug Orr, Assistant Commissioner, Elections

Mr Tim Pickering, First Assistant Commissioner, Electoral Operations

## **Department of Defence**

Mr Ross McAllister, Program Director Common Services - SOE

Mr William Meldrum, Defence Project Director - Electronic Voting Trial for 2007 Federal Election

Air Commodore Anthony Needham, Director General Workforce Planning

Group Captain Geoffrey Robinson, Acting Director-General, Headquarters Joint Operations Command

## Software Improvements Pty Ltd

Ms Carol Boughton, Managing Director Mr Kevin Cox, Chief Technical Officer

# Tuesday 11 November 2008 - Canberra

# **Australian Labor Party**

Mr Karl Bitar, National Secretary
Mr Elias Hallaj, Assistant National Secretary
Mr Nick Martin, Assistant National Secretary

# Tuesday 25 November 2008 - Canberra

#### **Individuals**

Hon Fran Bailey MP, Federal Member for McEwen Hon Gary Gray AO MP, Federal Member for Brand Hon Peter Lindsay MP, Federal Member for Herbert

# Tuesday 2 December 2008 - Canberra Liberal Party of Australia

Mr Brian Loughnane, Federal Director

# Tuesday 3 February 2009 - Canberra

#### The Nationals

Mr Brad Henderson, Federal Director

# Tuesday 17 March 2009 - Canberra

#### **Australian Electoral Commission**

Mr Paul Dacey, Deputy Australian Electoral Commissioner
Mr Ed Killesteyn, Australian Electoral Commissioner
Mr Paul Pirani, Chief Legal Officer
Mr Tom Rogers, Australian Electoral Officer for New South Wales

# Thursday 16 April 2009 - Canberra

### **Individuals**

Mr Andrew Murray

Professor George Williams

# Action on Smoking and health

Ms Anne Jones, Chief Executive Officer

# Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union

Mr John Sutton, National Secretary

### **Democratic Audit of Australia**

Mr Peter Brent, Researcher

Professor Brian Costar, Co-ordinator

# **Public Interest Advocacy Centre**

Ms Deirdre Moor, Manager Policy & Programs

# The Wilderness Society Inc

Mr Alec Marr, Executive Director

Dr Gregory Ogle, Legal Co-ordinator

# Monday 11 May 2009 - Canberra

#### **Australian Electoral Commission**

Mr Paul Dacey, Acting Electoral Commissioner

Ms Barbara Davis, Acting Deputy Electoral Commissioner

Ms Kathy Mitchell, Acting Assistant Commissioner, Communication & Information Strategy

Mr Tom Rogers, Acting First Assistant Commissioner

Ms Bronwyn Shelley, Acting Chief Legal Officer